In the blink of an eye: oasis naan

Oasis naan that was on the menu for this week’s Baking with Julia, and it took  just the blink of an eye to throw together — thankfully, since May was a real challenge not only with keeping up with my blog, but also with keeping up with baking and cooking. I probably should have baked my bread for a little longer, but I was tired, and just wanted to get it out of the oven.  On the positive side, along with its ease of preparation is its exotic (cumin scented)  and satisfying texture.

The Oasis Naan disappeared as quickly as a warm dusk evening of t-ball in the yard.  And just like the Naan, Gorilla Girl was tough to capture in action (Okay, the Naan was not moving when I took the photograph, but Gorilla Girl never stood still).

As a start to summer, the evening of t-ball was just about perfect (even though my photographs were far from it).  We ate dinner outside, had a beer in the remaining warmth of the sun, and then played ball as the sun set.  I’m hoping that baking with Julia provides me with more simple treats that will fit perfectly into the lazy days of summer.

And bonus, the naan sort of reminds me of bases!  Not that I’d use good naan for stomping through a home run, but still, the makeshift bases we always use could just as easily have been naan. The scallions even look a bit like grass kicked up after a good slide into second.

This entry was posted in bread, summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In the blink of an eye: oasis naan

  1. Nice post, thank you! I have a couple of those moving targets as well, and will see them soon. Can’t wait!

  2. heidi1169 says:

    Cute post, love that Gorilla Girl and her running. I too hope that the recipes for the summer are as easy as this one.

  3. Your bread looks so good and your evening sounds perfect! Do mosquitoes not torture you in the evenings where you live?

  4. oven chaos says:

    Me too – I love quick, simple, and delicious recipes:) The evening spent with your family sounds great!

  5. thekitchenlioness says:

    Nice looking naan and certainly a wonderful moment you caught there with your camera!
    Have a good week!

  6. Ei says:

    Wonderful pics!! I love how the world is blurry and Gorilla Girl is in focus in that one shot where she’s running.

  7. Ckay says:

    There’s nothing better than spending a lovely time with the family and eating a delicous “made from scratch”, quick food.
    The naans were a winner in my family!

  8. Alice says:

    Looks like a great night! 🙂

  9. Piebird says:

    your comparison of naans with grass-stained bases make me laugh!

  10. Cher says:

    Running is a good thing 🙂 My eldest realized that she liked running while on a softball league. She started running cross country & track in high school and will be running NCAA next year. It’s been a great means of helping her stay focused and disciplined in life.
    Love the pictures of Gorilla Girl – I kind of miss those carefree days with my girls sometimes.

Leave a Reply

