Stinky cheese: gorgonzola-apple quiche

When I was in France with KDM, she tried to get me to eat stinky cheese.  I gave it my best shot, but each stinky cheese, with its bluish veined ripples of bacterial and mold infection, and its pungent aroma, just overwhelmed my senses, and I couldn’t indulge in the way of a stalwart Francophile. I’ll have to turn in my beret!

However,  I do think I’ve found a compromise — or at least, I’ve eaten mildly stinky cheese and enjoyed it. Maybe the trick is to put the stinky cheese in a lovely pastry tart with eggs, cream, and onions. Dorie’s gorgonzola apple quiche was so scrumptious that even EE, on his low carb diet, indulged in a teeny-tiny sliver. Gorilla Girl tried it because of the allure of the apple, but her nose wrinkled upon sampling a mouthful — apparently, the stinky cheese aversion runs in the family, if not in the DNA.

This quiche is not only my first successful stinky cheese experiment, it is also my first quiche — period.  It did take me two tries on the tart dough, however, the first one crumbling like sand on a hot summer day beneath my exhausted fingers.  Dorie gave directions for dough made by hand and by food processor.  I was arrogant — and thought that my experienced pâte brisée making self could easily handle this. Ah, the hubris of a few simple non-egg based rustic tarts made successfully.

After the dough crumbled in my hands, I decided to try an old stand-by,  and I used Deb’s great unshrinkable sweet tart shell, with super results. Deb’s Smitten Kitchen recipe is remarkably similar to Dorie’s, but it didn’t require weights (a plus), and it did use a food processor, so I just licked my wounds and dumped the ingredients into the processor (and then cleaned it — part of the reason I eschewed using the food processor in the first place was to avoid washing extra dishes).

Oh, and the bonus with the tart dough — with the extra, Gorilla Girl happily rolled, molded, and sculpted for quite a long time.  I only captured the butterfly, but she also made a snowman, a happy face, and several other abstract designs.

The overall verdict, despite my failed tart dough on round one, is that I’ll now have the courage to attempt more recipes with stinky cheese, and I’ll also make a few more quiches swapping in various other non-stinky cheeses and vegetables.

You can see the stinky cheese in this close up

For more insight into stinky cheese apple tarts, see what other home bakers created on French Fridays with Dorie.

This entry was posted in cheese, family meals, food, lessons, mistakes, paris and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Stinky cheese: gorgonzola-apple quiche

  1. Jennifer says:

    Try this one:

    http://www.food52.com/recipes/2829_leek_lemon_and_feta_quiche

    I (meek as I am with things that need to be gently combined and rolled) used a ready-made pie crust (although this one suggests puff pastry). I also may have used four eggs, as my quiche pan is deep, and I crumbled the feta instead of laying it in blocks on top. Oh, I also used the suggestion of roasted fennel instead of ouzo. Nice and lemony, but rich! (I usually use reduced-fat milk in my quiches, but I decided to follow the recipe this time.)

    P.S. I love GG’s pastry art!

    • Thanks! That one looks pretty amazing, and a pound of leeks! I might be tempted to try the ouzo since I sort of love anise flavored things. Yeah, I wish I had caught more of GG’s pastry art, though I am sure she’ll have more opportunities given my baking proclivities!

  2. Krissy says:

    Sounds like your dough needed just a little more water. And I love this stinky cheese recipe…hope to have another slice for my lunch.

  3. Yay, so happy to hear that you liked this one. I think you deserve credit for making it even though you dislike stinky cheese.

    I spent some time in France and I tend to think that (with a few exceptions, I know a 5 year old loved blue cheese!) stinky cheese is an acquired taste. I didn’t always love it, but I started at the milder end of stinky and slowly just start to crave the stronger and stronger stuff. So who knows, maybe one day it will grow on you.

  4. I think your first foray into stinky cheese and quiche making was a success!

  5. Robin says:

    I agree, France has some of the stickiest of stinkie cheeses. I like gorgonzola, but some blue cheeses can be a bit too much for me. I did like how all the flavours went together with this one.

  6. Eileen says:

    I had the exact same sand-crumbling problem with my dough. What a pain in the butt. I forged ahead with it and it turned out okay, but I think I need a different recipe. I like stinky cheese (most of the time. My in-laws send us these hideous cheeses from some monastery every Christmas, even though we’ve told them we hate it. We try it every year, and every year, throw it out. What a waste.) I LOVED this tart. Good for Gorilla Girl (and you!) for trying it at all.

  7. Cher says:

    Congrats on your successes!
    A little water may have whipped the first dough into submission. I made mine up in the food processor and it came together pretty simply. I think I added an extra half to full teaspoon of water in the end.

  8. Tasty Mayhem says:

    I’m glad all turned out well and your second crust looks beautiful. Check out my post and let EE know that you can make a crustless version that is awesome (My D would say not to brag, but I’m really pleased with how it turned out.)

  9. Adriana says:

    Tart dough – the original play-doh! Sounds like a great time was had by all. I didn’t use Dorie’s recipe either. I made David Lebovitz’s, which doesn’t require cutting cold fats into the flour – something I’m absolutely terrible at.

  10. Betsy says:

    Brave girl to attack your nemesis of stinky cheese! With good success! I liked this one too, but I also love stinky cheese. I didn’t use Dorie’s tart dough either, haven’t had the best success with it on previous tries. My stand-by favorite is Mark Bittman’s. Recipe on my website: http://aplatefulofhappiness.wordpress.com/recipe-index/my-favorite-pie-crust/

  11. Stinky Cheese requires Stinky Wine! Congratulations on a successful stinky cheese quiche! Looks absolutely terrific – especially with the pastry snowman 🙂

  12. Pingback: Baking ugly, and tasting pretty: chocolate truffle tartlets | Necessity is the Mother of Invention

Leave a Reply

