Making art, gorilla girl style

Gorilla Girl has been making new pictures lately, as an addition to her budding work in photography.  She draws animals, people, g00-goos, houses, boats, cars, trains, designs and decorations.  She sketches flowers and mermaids, family and friends.  Most importantly, she gives freely her creations to us and to her friends and neighbors.

In this bird and lady bug drawing, Gorilla Girl worked fast, and sometimes I wonder about getting her to slow down, to concentrate more.  Then again, it is her art, done in her way, and I don’t want to interfere with her process. She is easily enthused by a new idea for something, draws hundreds of that thing (mermaids, for example), and then moves on to a new image once she has satisfied herself with the repetition of the current image.

I don’t have her artistic ability, and when she asks me to draw something so she can use it as a model, she cups her hands to her mouth and giggles at my feeble attempts. She knows what she wants, and sometimes gets frustrated by her own lack of control over her chosen instrument. Mostly, though, she repeats and tries again until she is satisfied with the resulting image.

Gorilla girl seems to get enjoyment from designing a colorful picture, adorning it with small items that she can tape to the image, creating what looks vaguely like a frame around the image and then autographing it and giving it as a gift. She unexpectedly gave away just such a work the other night to our friends. It was truly amazing in its layout and use of space.

Sometimes, the sheer number of papers produced by Gorilla Girl overwhelms, and I find myself grabbing fistfuls of scraps that ultimately end up in the trash.  Should I be keeping these in order to archive her “early years”? How much is worth saving, and what do I keep and what do I toss? When the level of production is so vast, I can’t possibly keep it all without building a barn for more storage.

I do try to pick and choose, to save the best, most creative bits. Gorilla Girl will have to be okay with that, and hopefully, her art will continue to grow and shift, so that she can one day look back with glee on the remnants of her early attempts.

This entry was posted in art, experience, family, growth, identity, inspiration, motherhood, unexpected gifts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Making art, gorilla girl style

  1. Eileen says:

    When we were at dinner last week she asked me to draw her kitty and I did — she was so excited…now I see why she did it!! I hope she keeps up with her art and drawing I so wish I did and myabe GG will spur me onto getting back into it! I need a picture to put on my fridge!

  2. Deb Hanrahan says:

    When my 2 older ones were young, they too drew all day long. I faced the same dilemna – what to save and what to throw away. I decided to display the artwork on one wall of our house for a length of time and the kids would decide what stayed and what didn’t. They were only allowed that one huge wall. Since the wall was in a very busy room of our house, it is featured in most of our family pictures and videos. There were a few times when I purposely took a picture of the wall to commemorate a special project.

    The second thing I did was buy ONE box for each kid to save very special items. From time to time, I would have to go through it and re-evaluate to make room for something else. My teens love their boxes. They frequently pull them out of the atic and sift through it with each other, laughing and reminiscing.

    Don’t feel guilty about haivng to though things away. You have many years of art projects ahead of you and it isn’t practical to save everything.

  3. Deb — Great advice, and two good ideas that I’ll definitely use!

  4. I am beyond impressed with GG’s talent. I am practically speechless!

  5. Mairead says:

    Hanz and I each had a big folder of random art through the ages that we made and my mom kept. I don’t care that it isn’t everything and I’m sure she doesn’t either. Because at least Christmas Tree Dragon Elf made the cut. GG the Early Years can be an exhibit easily if you just save a few of your favorites every week/month.

  6. Kelly Dobbs-Mickus says:

    I think it was about a month ago when we were visiting that GG wanted me to draw a treasure chest for her. (One with a P on it.) I drew one, and it was OK and GG liked it. She wanted me to draw another, and I said, well, why don’t you try one? I said, look at this one and try to make one that’s like it. (Pretty presumptuous of me, since drawing is not my forte!) So she did and it came out good. I love the mermaid pic–and I would not have thought to comment on the use of space. I was more focused on the multi-media approach!

  7. jyourist says:

    How awesome that GG lives in a family that supports and encourages her to make art. That is the one ingredient that will make her gift flourish.

  8. Pingback: Words and pictures | Necessity is the Mother of Invention

  9. Pingback: Monkey Girl: the super kid formerly known as Gorilla Girl | Necessity is the Mother of Invention

Leave a Reply

